Public Sector Banks in India

Public Sector Banks is the major player in the Indian Banking Sector with 92% of countries banking segment is under state control. In India, the public sector banks are divided into three categories – State Bank Group, Natioanlised Banks, Regional Rural Banks.
  • State Bank Group - This group consist of State Bank of India and Five Sate Bank of India Associate banks. The RBI owns the majority of the shares of the SBI and some of it’s associates. State Bank of India is the first public sector bank in india. Imperial bank of india acquired by the government to form the State Bank of India in 1955. In 1959 the State Bank of India Subsidiary act was passed and by the virtue of this act seven princly states bank were made the subsidiary of State Bank of India. Now State Bank of India has only five subsidiary as two of it subsidiary bank merged with the parent concern.
    1. State Bank of India
    2. State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
    3. State Bank of Hyderabad
    4. State Bank of Mysore
    5. State Bank of Patiala
    6. State Bank of Travancore
    7. State Bank of Saurashtra (merged into SBI in 2008)
    8. State bank of Indore (merged into SBI in 2010)
  • Nationalised Bank/Public-sector banks - In 1969 the government of India effected the nationalization of of 14 scheduled commercial banks in order to expand the branch network followed by six more bank in 1980. Total 20 commercial banks were nationalized in two bank nationalization process but in 1993 New Bank of India was merged with Punjab National Bank.
    1. Allahabad Bank
    2. Andhra Bank
    3. Bank of Baroda
    4. Bank of India
    5. Bank of Maharashtra
    6. Bhartiya Mahila Bank
    7. Canara Bank
    8. Central Bank of India
    9. Corporation Bank
    10. Dena Bank
    11. IDBI Bank
    12. Indian Bank
    13. Indian Overseas Bank
    14. Oriental Bank of Commerce
    15. Punjab National Bank
    16. Punjab & Sind Bank
    17. Syndicate Bank
    18. UCO Bank
    19. Union Bank of India
    20. United Bank of India
    21. Vijaya Bank
  • Regional Rural Banks - In 1975, the state bank group and nationalized banks were required to sponsor and set up Regional Rural Banks in partnership with individual states to provide low cost financing and credit facilities to the rural masses. On the recommendation of the Banking Commission (1972), on October 2 1975 five Regional Rural Bank were established. Their main function is to provide financial help to small and marginal farmers and rural workers to help the rural economy to grow.
    1. Allahabad UP Gramin Bank
    2. Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank
    3. Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank
    4. Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank
    5. Aryavart Gramin Bank
    6. Assam Gramin Vikash Bank
    7. Baitarani Gramya Bank
    8. Ballia –Etawah Gramin Bank
    9. Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank
    10. Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank
    11. Baroda Rajasthan Gramin Bank
    12. Baroda Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank
    13. Bihar Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    14. Cauvery Kalpatharu Grameena Bank
    15. Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank
    16. Chhattisgarh Gramin Bank
    17. Chikmagalur-Kodagu Grameena Bank
    18. Deccan Grameena Bank
    19. Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank
    20. Durg-Rajnandgaon Gramin Bank
    21. Ellaquai Dehati Bank
    22. Gurgaon Gramin Bank
    23. Hadoti Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    24. Haryana Gramin Bank
    25. Himachal Gramin Bank
    26. Jaipur Thar Gramin Bank
    27. Jhabua Dhar Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    28. Jharkhand Gramin Bank
    29. Kalinga Gramya Bank
    30. Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank
    31. Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank
    32. Kerala Gramin Bank
    33. Krishna Grameena Bank
    34. Kshetriya Kisan Gramin Bank
    35. Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank
    36. Madhumalti Building Gupte Marg
    37. Madhya Bharat Gramin Bank
    38. Madhya Bihar Gramin Bank
    39. Mahakaushal Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    40. Maharashtra Gramin Bank
    41. Malwa Gramin Bank
    42. Manipur Rural Bank
    43. Marwar Ganganagar Bikaner Gramin Bank
    44. Meghalaya Rural Bank
    45. Mewar Anchalik Gramin Bank
    46. Mizoram Rural Bank
    47. Nagaland Rural Bank
    48. Uttrakhand Gramin Bank[1]
    49. Narmada Malwa Gramin Bank
    50. Neelachal Gramya Bank
    51. Pallavan Grama Bank
    52. Pandyan Grama Bank
    53. Parvatiya Gramin Bank
    54. Paschim Banga Gramin Bank
    55. Pragathi Gramin Bank
    56. Prathama Bank
    57. Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bank
    58. Pune District Central Cooperative Bank Ltd.
    59. Punjab Gramin Bank
    60. Purvanchal Gramin Bank
    61. Rajasthan Gramin Bank
    62. Rewa-Sidhi Gramin Bank
    63. Rushikulya Gramya Bank
    64. Samastipur Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    65. Saptagiri Grameena Bank
    66. Sarva UP Gramin Bank
    67. Satpura Narmada Kshetriya
    68. Saurashtra Gramin Bank
    69. Sharda Gramin Bank
    70. Shreyas Gramin Bank
    71. Surguja Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    72. Sutlej Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    73. Tripura Gramin Bank
    74. Utkal Gramya Bank
    75. Uttar Banga Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    76. Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank
    77. Vananchal Gramin Bank
    78. Vidharbha Kshetriya Gramin Bank
    79. Visveshvaraya Grameena Bank
    80. Wainganga Krishna Gramin Bank